At Any Price (Gaming the System #1) by Breanna Aubrey

At Any Price (Gaming the System #1) by Breanna Aubrey

At Any Price Cover

3 out of 5 Stars

This was an interesting read, though in the end I didn’t love it. The story is of strong-willed Mia meeting even stronger-willed Adam through an online auction for her virginity. Both have been alone for a long time and think they prefer life that way, until they spend more time than they should together and end up falling in love.

Things I liked:

The story was well written with only a few editing and formatting issues—certainly not enough to detract from the writing.

I enjoyed the gaming aspect of the story. It was different from anything else I’ve read lately.

The chemistry between Adam and Mia was sizzling and the UST was off the charts.

The sex scenes were hot and well done.

Things I didn’t like:

I expected the story to be about Adam chasing Mia after they fulfilled the terms of the auction because one of her terms was that there be no further contact between them. It didn’t quite happen that way. I can’t fault the author for taking the story in a different direction, but I didn’t love the way everything did go down.

Mia’s characterization was conflicting. Throughout the story, she claimed to be a strong person who could take care of herself, yet her every action proved the opposite of that. Her constantly giving in to Adam’s demands drove me nuts when at the same time she was insisting she didn’t need him.

I lost count of how many times the author told us who Persephone and FallenOne were. Once was enough. Assume your readers remember the details.

I would have liked to see more of the relationship between Mia and FallenOne prior to the auction instead of just being told that she had a crush on him and talked to him a lot. I didn’t think there was enough development there.

Overall, I struggled with my rating because I didn’t want to penalize the story for being different from what I wanted to read, but in the end I just didn’t like Mia’s characterization enough to give this a fourth star.

Happy reading!

Rach

Leave a Reply

