A Lush Betrayal (Lush #1) by Selena Laurence

A Lush Betrayal (Lush #1) by Selena Laurence

A Lush Betrayal Cover

5 out of 5 Stars

To the outside world, Joss Jamison has everything. His band Lush is about to go on a huge tour and he already has women drooling over him everywhere he goes. But underneath it all is a tortured soul with a secret that’s tearing him apart. He slept with his best friend’s fiancée. Lush is on the verge of something big—something that will make or break them. Joss knows that coming clean to Walsh will be the end of their friendship and their band, so he has to live with his own guilt every day while he watches Walsh and Tammy live their happy lives.

Fresh out of a master’s program with her own problems, Melanie DiLorenzo gets a job photojournaling Lush on their summer tour, thanks to her sister. This tour could be Mel’s big break if she plays her cards right. But her cards don’t include falling for the lead singer or finding out he slept with her sister Tammy. Joss and Mel will each need to learn and grow if their relationship is to survive once the bombshell is revealed.

A Lush Betrayal had me turning page after page right from the start. It was wonderfully written and drew me in to the lives of everyone involved. I could feel Joss’ tortured heart practically jumping off the page, and Mel truly was a balm for his soul. I was so invested in these characters and felt every emotion right along with them as things got better, and then worse, and then better again.

At first I thought it was strange that the author pretty much told us what the tipping point of the story would be. The fact that Joss and Tammy slept together was given to us in the beginning of the book. But instead of making me feel like I knew what was coming and would be bored with it, I was constantly on edge wondering how and when it would come out. I knew it wouldn’t be pretty when it did, and it had me biting my nails hanging on for the explosion. When everything exploded, I felt comfortable with each character’s reaction. Nothing was overdone or out of line.

I could go on and on about the hot sex between Joss and Mel or how everyone loves a sexy rock star. Those things are a given in this book. I was never disappointed, never felt the interactions were too much or too cheesy. It was all just perfect. A little angst and a lot of love.

The story is told in first person point of view by both Joss and Mel. This is a pet peeve of mine because I prefer to follow a first person story from one point of view. However, I found in this book, I was not at all bothered by switching POVs. The chapters consistently switched from Joss to Mel, and the story did not arc off into different places. The characters met quickly, and then most chapters included interaction between both of them. There was no overlap in the chapters, so the story had a consistent flow.

A Lush Betrayal is a must-read for rock star romance fans, and I would definitely read more by Selena Laurence.

Happy reading!

Rach

Leave a Reply

