On the Offensive by Cara Dee

On the Offensive by Cara Dee

 On the Offensive Cover

5 out of 5 Stars

*I was provided a copy of On the Offensive by the author. I am not compensated for my honest opinion.*

Ever since Peyton’s hormones kicked in when she was fourteen, she’s been fighting nonstop with her stepbrother Zack. She can’t seem to figure out how to make her attraction to him go away, nor can she allow herself to actually think of him like a brother. She’s successfully avoided him for the last year and a half while she was away at college, but now she’s stuck spending time with him while her family spends the holiday together in Aspen.

Zack appears to have the same hatred for Peyton if his attitude toward her is any indication. But perhaps Zack’s been feeling just as confused as Peyton by their sibling relationship. When Peyton gets all dolled up for New Year’s Eve, the sparks finally turn from hate to lust, and there’s no stopping these two from exploring the true nature of their attraction.

When I read a book, I tend to take notes to remind me of what I want to say in my review. My notes for On the Offensive looked exactly like this: “Hot, hot, hot!” This story practically explodes off the pages and will leave you panting for more. Sure, the stepbrother theme has been done many times, but Cara Dee always finds a fresh, new way to spin her tales. This one starts with the heat going in the opposite direction. I loved how Peyton and Zack annoyed each other and fought like crazy until that switch was flipped and they turned the hate into fireworks of a different kind. This is a short story, but Cara has a way of making each word count and packing quite a punch into the plot.

Another fun tidbit I enjoyed was how Peyton’s mother seemed to be setting up her daughter and stepson by helping Peyton look hot for New Year’s Eve. “Mother always knows” was certainly the case here, and if she was looking for a way to get the stepsiblings to stop fighting, she definitely found it. The ending of the story had me laughing out loud.

On the Offensive is a five-star sexy read, perfect for when you need a little something to light a fire. Cara Dee never lets her readers down when it comes to eroticism. I have loved every story of hers I’ve read, and I always look forward to reading more.

You can find all of my reviews of Cara’s work by selecting Cara Dee from the Author Spotlight tab.

Happy reading!

Rach

Leave a Reply

