The Deeper Chronicles Book 2 by Allyn Lesley

The Deeper Chronicles Book 2 by Allyn Lesley

3 out of 5 Stars

*I was provided an ARC of Deeper Book Two by the author in exchange for an honest review. I am not compensated for my honest opinion.*

Noah Adams and Avi Linton are finally able to relax and enjoy each other, but business for Noah always takes precedence. Avi understands, to a degree, though that doesn’t keep her from pushing for answers Noah isn’t willing to give. Noah’s business suddenly becomes personal and he has to figure out who is targeting him and how to stop the threat. When the threat sets its sights on Avi, Noah has more to lose than he ever imagined. He’ll need to save Avi without losing himself in the process.

Although not strictly necessary, I highly suggest reading book 1 prior to reading The Deeper Chronicles Book Two. There is a lot of information from the first book that continues into this book, and since it had been a while since I read the first one I found myself struggling at times to understand some parts.

That said, it is an interesting and intriguing romantic suspense novel, and I appreciate the way the author is able to weave together various pieces of the puzzle. So many things are happening at once but I was able to follow along and put clues together, which kept me engaged throughout.

Noah was an alpha who ruled with an iron fist. His characterization stayed true from the first time we met him in book 1 until the end of this book. While I appreciated the consistency of his character, it was also one of the downfalls of my enjoyment. If you’re the type of reader who loves an alpha male and the women who submit to them, then this series would be a great choice for you. Unfortunately, I prefer to see character growth and adaptation. I wanted Noah to show a little trust in Avi and let her into his world a bit. Instead he used sex to distract or deter her every time she asked him questions, which not only left me disconnected from Noah but also wondering exactly what their relationship was based on other than sex. Avi was a bit too weak for my liking.

The copy of the book I received was an ARC edition, so I tried to limit my criticism of grammatical errors, however they did factor into my rating a bit as there were some errors in vital sentences that really took me out of the moment. Hopefully they have been cleaned up in the final publication.

I’m certain this book will appeal to many readers. It just didn’t hit enough high notes for me.

Book Links:

amazon-logo-80x80 itunes-icon kobo-buy-80x80 google_play gr-icon
Happy reading!

Rach

Leave a Reply

